Smoke Alarms are required by state law or local ordinances.
All rental units including apartments, duplexes, condos, and single-family homes must have smoke detectors as required by the Texas Property Code HB 1168.
New Legislation Texas law HB 1168 requires at least one smoke alarm to be placed in each bedroom, or in the room used for sleeping in the case of an efficiency unit. In addition, if multiple bedrooms are served by the same hallway, there must be a smoke alarm in the hallway in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms; and if the unit has multiple levels, there must be a smoke alarm on each level.
Replacement of Smoke Alarms:
Unless otherwise recommended by the manufacturer's published instructions, single- and multiple-stations smoke alarms shall be replaced when they fail to respond to operability tests, but shall not remain in service longer than 10 years from the date of manufacture.
The landlord must inspect and test all smoke alarms when a tenant first moves in. The Landlord must replace any smoke alarms when they are 10 years old, or sooner, if they do not respond properly when tested.
Landlords should have written documentation for their records that the smoke alarm was tested, and to show that they complied with the Texas property code.
Liberty Management will have smoke alarms installed in any bedrooms that do not have a smoke alarm. We will have the smoke alarms tested prior to the tenant’s move-in. We will replace any dead batteries, and we will have any non-working smoke alarms replaced along with any smoke alarms that are 10 years or older.
If you have questions on cost or want to go ahead and schedule an inspection on your smoke alarms, you can contact Best Key Service at (210) 341-5219. It will save you a trip charge if they test the smoke alarms when they re-key the property.